Town Clerk's Office
All dogs over the age of 6 months are required by state law to be licensed before April 1 of each year. To license a dog, you must have a current rabies certificate.
Dog License Fees:
- $9 spayed/neutered ($11 after April 1)
- $13 unspayed/unneutered ($17 after April 1)
Please contact the clerk's office with any questions at 802-295-2785 or by email at email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Functions of the Town Clerk's Office
Vermont State Statutes set the duties and responsibilities of the Town Clerk's office. The Town Clerk's office is responsible for:
- Issuing dog licenses
- Ordering ballots
- Overseeing elections and counting votes
- Receiving petitions and verifying legal voters
- Receiving requests for absentee ballots and sending absentee ballots
- Recording and maintaining all:
- Vital records
- Temporary motor vehicle renewals
- Town and school meeting minutes 2011
- Updating and maintaining the voter checklist
- Easement deeds
- Mobile home bills of sale
- Mortgage deeds
- Partial releases
- Property transfer tax returns
- Quitclaim deeds
- Tax collector reports of sales
- Warranty deeds
- Birth Certificates, 1857 - to date
- Death Certificates, 1857 - to date
- Marriage Certificates, 1857 - to date
MARRIAGE LICENSES CAN ONLY BE ISSUED BETWEEN 8AM AND 4:30PM DUE TO THE NECESSARY PROCESSING TIME.
A Vermont resident being married in Vermont must purchase a marriage license from the Town Clerk of the town he or she resides in. An out-of-state resident may purchase a marriage license from any Vermont Town Clerk. The marriage license may be used on the day it is purchased, and then it is good for 60 days. WE REQUIRE BOTH INDIVIDUALS TO BE PRESENT WHEN APPLYING FOR THE LICENSE.
Both individuals must know their mother's maiden names and the state where each parent was born. If there was a previous marriage/civil union for either individual, they must know the month and year that the previous marriage/civil union ended. If it was within the last 12 months, they must provide documentation of the final date. There are no blood tests required in Vermont.
Marriage License Fee is $60. We accept Cash, Money Order or LOCAL Checks ONLY. We DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS.
All dogs over the age of 6 months are required by state law to be licensed before April 1 of each year. To license a dog, you must have a current rabies certificate. Dogs under 2 must have been vaccinated within the last 12 months; dogs over 2 years of age must have been vaccinated within 36 months. The rabies certificate needs to be the original received from and signed by the veterinarian.
If you are a resident of the Town of Hartford, you may register to vote in the Town Clerk's Office. If you have never before registered to vote in the State of Vermont, we will administer the Voter's Oath. New names are added to the voter checklist before every election.
Last year, Secretary of State Jim Condos announced the launch of VT’s new Elections Management Platform. This streamlined the elections administration process, providing voters with greater access to voter specific information. Over 25,000 Vermonters registered to vote online in 2016. For the November General Election, nearly 6,500 Vermonters requested an absentee ballot through the My Voter Page.
By using the My Voter Page, a registered voter can:
- Check registration status;
- View information on upcoming elections;
- Access voter specific elections information, including directions to a polling place and polling hours;
- View a sample ballot;
- Request and track an absentee ballot;
- and much more.
Registered Voters can log in at: http://mvp.vermont.gov
Online registration can be found at: http://olvr.vermont.gov
Motor Vehicle Registration
The Town Clerk's Office provides temporary motor vehicle registration renewals if you have the renewal from the state and it was issued in the current month or 2 previous months. You must have a check or money order made out to the state for the amount of the registration (the state will not accept cash.) There is a $3 processing fee for the town, which can be paid in a separate check or in cash.